Picture-less Update

Hey everyone!

I don’t have any pictures of the town yet, because we’ve really just been walking around and trying to take it all in… one of these days I’ll actually go out and take pictures.

It snowed the day I got here, but other than that we’ve been pretty lucky. It’s cold in the mornings, but by the afternoon, it’s pretty gorgeous. On Friday we even went out for ice cream!

I’ve met a bunch of really cool students from all over the world, but I spend most of my time with Mary Brooke and Elma, who are both from the US, though completely different parts. We all seem to like the same things and we really get along well. I’ve even gotten Mary Brooke started on her first pair of socks! And now Elma wants to learn too. I am just so excited about this!

We met up at a cafe yesterday, and have pretty much decided that this is what we will do every Saturday, mostly to make sure we still keep in touch once we’ve got our regular classes and everything. We’ve also discovered that Tuebingen has 30 Doener stands. A Doener is a typical Turkish meal, and it consists of thinly sliced lamb, lettuce, cabbage, onion, yogurt sauce and red pepper flakes in a flatbread. It is quite delicious and extremely cheap. Since the German word for Thursday is Donnerstag, we have decided to change it to Doenertag… which means every Thursday we will be going to a different Doener stand. I am just so excited for this! I really hope we have the time to visit them all! 🙂

On the crafting front, I have finished another pair of socks for Corey (second since I’ve gotten here… but the first only had half a sock missing), and a pair of felted Ballerina slippers for myself… though I do still have to felt them. They were my first object made from a German pattern and I did it all by myself! I didn’t need to ask anyone for help in translating. I felt so accomplished! I’ll have pictures of all these things later… probably after the slippers are felted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

