Grab some food and drink… this may take awhile.

So…. some time ago (I can’t remember when it was exactly), I went to Ulm with one of the International Student organizations here. We spent all of Saturday in Ulm, and then all of Sunday in Blaubeuren, which is just outside Ulm. We climbed the Ulmer Muenster, which has the highest tower of all Christian churches – 768 steps and 161.5 meters (530 feet). While in Blaubeuren, we saw the monastery, Blautopf, and aย medieval festival.ย We also took a walk to a grilling area, where it was raining. A lot.

I also picked up a wonderful skein of yarn that was hand-dyed, hand-spun, and then needlefelted for stability. I unfortunately don’t have a picture of it, as I forgot to take one and my camera batteries are dead. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Here a picture of the Muenster, as well as one of the view:

For more pictures, go here: (will be added later)

For more information, go here: http://www.ulmer-muenster.de/

I unfortunately don’t have any pictures from Blaubeuren, because I had forgotten to grab my camera when we went out, but if you want to see some pictures of what it looks like, and learn a little bit about it, you can go here: http://www.stadt-blaubeuren.de

I spent my Pfingstferien (vacation week here) in Slovakia, visiting my family. One grandmother took me to the yarn store, and the other to the theater. I had a really great time seeing everyone again. ๐Ÿ™‚

And now, for the crafts. I’m going to stick to what is already completed in this post, and save the WIPs for a later time.

First, my mom’s Mother’s Day presents:

Apparently I don’t have any pictures of the doily stretched, which is unfortunate, as it is quite beautiful.

Daisy socks in On Your Toes Bamboo in the color Iris. It’s Mother’s Day… you gotta have flowers! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is the doily I was working on last time. I finished it awhile ago, and I totally love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are the felted slippers I had mentioned before. They are felted and they fit amazingly!

I’ve also made 5 pairs of socks for myself…

These are made from Regia Pompon. They are super squishy ๐Ÿ™‚

These are made from yarn that I picked up on my first full day here in town. The name of the yarn was ridiculously long, and something along the lines of (in German of course): Sock and Stocking Wool in Color and 4-ply.

Made from Patons Stretch Socks in Plum. I brought this yarn with me from the US. I had bought it probably a year and a half ago.

I like to call these Irish Dirt socks. The skein was pretty large, and I’m hoping to be able to make a pair of these for Corey as well. We’ll have to wait and see ๐Ÿ™‚

I made these from yarn that Ellen had sent me from the US along with the needles I requested. Thank you Ellen!

All five pairs were done in the Plain Vanilla Pattern.

… and a pair for my grandmother.

I only did part of the chart on each sock, as a. I had made a mistake and ripping back was next to impossible. b. I didn’t have time. c. I thought it would look nice. My grandmother loved them and the fact that they were somewhat different from each other.

Two mini doilies for under the teacups I have at home. My plan is to collect various teacups and have different doilies under each of them.

Crocheted from thread given to me by my paternal grandmother.

Sorry for the terrible picture. It’s all I have. The thread for this one was given to me by my maternal grandmother.

Baby socks + a baggy for Meaghan. I’m thinking of selling baby socks on Etsy once I get back to the US. How much would people be willing to pay for them?

A birthday doily for Maggy.

Unblocked. I unfortunately didn’t get a good picture of it blocked and it’s already packed up and ready to go out. I’ll see if I can get ย a better picture of it… either ask Corey to take it or once I get back.

Also, two triangular shawls.

A rainbow Multnomah made in Schoppel Wolle Zauberball in the color Frische Fische (Fresh Fish).

Gabriel Wings Shawl made in Cambio. Much as I love the way the yarn looks and feels, I don’t know that I’ll use it again. It was definitely a pain to work with, as it was really slippery.

Birthday Harry Potter bookmarks for Emma. I improvised this pattern. If you like it, let me know and I’ll write it up ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve also made several snowflakes, for which I don’t have images.

And a secret surprise for my sister! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Comments Add yours

  1. mamka says:

    the socks are amazing, love the pom poms ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Radka says:

    Oooooh, ooooh, oooooh….I get a secret surprise!!!!

    And I don’t know what this whole deal with not being able to find good sock yarn for me is…all but the 2nd pair of socks is amazing!!!

    โค

  3. Radka says:

    Also…why am I an unhappy blue diamond (not that I like Mamka’s more or anything, but…)

  4. Radka says:

    Also, the picture of the yarn at the very top of your blog is absolutely awesome!

  5. Ellen says:

    a-HA! you’re welcome, so excited to see that yarn in action ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

