Finishing Mania

Wrap it Up! –

Since it’s been awhile since I’ve posted, it seems only fitting that I’ve got a bunch of finished projects.

Pics below the cut!

First off, my wifey socks are complete! The weekend after our wedding, Corey and I went to a sheep and wool festival and each picked out a skein of sock yarn. His socks were posted last time, mine are right here!
Pattern:Plain Vanilla Socks by Keri McKiernan, Ribby Variation
Yarn: Ellen’s Half Pint Farm Merino Sock in Great Lakes Shoreline

A second pair of socks for myself, the Vegas Lights Vanillas! I finished the first sock well over two years ago, but other projects took up more time (and were honestly more exciting), so I was never really motivated to finish them. I finally got sick of moving the skein and complete sock every time I was looking for sock yarn, so I decided to just finish them. It really only took a couple of days, so I’m not really sure why I delayed for so long.

Pattern: Plain Vanilla Socks by Keri McKiernan
Yarn: Premier Yarns Wool-Free Sock in Vegas Lights

Mom’s birthday socks aka Super Secret Project #4! I’ve now made this pattern four times and I still absolutely love it. It’s so much fun, and these really flew right off the needles.
Pattern: Skew by Lana Holden
Yarn: Red Heart Heart and Sole with Aloe in Mellow Stripes

A hat for Corey! He wanted a green hat and I grabbed the first skein of green yarn I found in my stash. It was a bit darker than he wanted, but it still made for a very nice, warm hat!

Pattern: Cream of Celery Soup Hat by Mary O’Shea
Yarn: Valley Yarns Leyden in Olive, Khaki Drab and Navy

A slouchy hat for me. I’ve had this yarn in my stash for well over four years – I was waiting for the perfect pattern for it. I liked it too much for socks, but thought it was too busy for a shawl or scarf. So when I stumbled across this pattern and fell in love with it, I knew exactly which yarn to use (Spoiler: I’m probably going to be making more these because it’s amazing.)
Pattern: Sockhead Slouch Hat by Kelly McClure
Yarn: Araucania Ranco Sock in Light Blue

A not so slouchy hat for Corey. As I mentioned previously, the cream of celery hat was a bit too dark for Corey’s liking, so I searched through the stash and found something a bit lighter. He liked the fit of my slouchy hat, aside from the slouch, so I made a variation on that.

Pattern: Sockhead Slouch Hat by Kelly McClure

Yarn: Knitpicks Stroll Handpainted in Budgie

I also made a bunch of dishcloths from my never ending supply of cotton. It’s what I pick up when I’m feeling uninspired by other projects (or looking for some easy autopilot knitting.)

Super Secret Projects #3, 5 and 7 have also been completed. They will be revealed at some point.

On the Needles
 –

A mystery shawl that is almost complete. I only have the final clue to finish and I’m not sure sure how I feel about it. I know it’s going to look great and be super warm after I block it, but I’m not loving it completely right now. Maybe I’ll finish it this week.

Pattern: Jan ’16 Mysery Shawl KAL by D G “Mouse” Laity
Yarn: Knitpicks Brava Sport in various colors

Super Secret Project #1 is coming along nicely. It’s hard to measure in skeins now – I’ve used about 1360 yards total.

Super Secret Project #2 is moving a bit slower, but I’ve still made progress over the last few weeks. I’ve used about 649 yards total.

Super Secret Project #6 is also slow going. I’ve used about 80 yards total.

Spin Me Right Round –

I’ve spun just about half of the Knitpicks Wool of the Andes roving in Tidepool Heather. I’ve mostly just spent a lot of time knitting, so it’s slow going, but I’m still loving it when I work on it! The color is a bit difficult to photograph. This is the closest I could get it.

That’s Life! –

The weather’s been mostly warming up, so we’ve been going out for runs whenever we can. There’s not much snow on the ground, so it makes it a bit easier.

In January, we took my parents to the annual railroad and hobby show, which was lots of fun. We even found a TARDIS in one of the displays.

 

Stash Yardage Calculator

I did add a little bit to the stash over the past few weeks, but I also used a lot.

101,649 (includes new skeins) – 4667 used since Jan 1 = 96,982 remaining

4.59% used since Jan 1! Looks like I’m going to hit my 10% goal sooner than I expected!

Sock Blanket Stash (Sock Scraps)

Finally measured the new additions, so I have a more accurate number! All of the yarn with this is earmarked for the sock blanket. I have left a couple to the side that I plan to use for other projects.

Total sock leftover stash: 13,060

 

 

Leave a Reply

